My interview with Don Ross

Don Ross is the Vice Chair at the Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve or FAB for short. FAB is a non-profit organization that protects the Frontenac Arch. This arch is an ancient granite bridge that connects the Canadian Shield to the Adirondack Mountains. It is rich with natural history and biodiversity.

In 2002 the land became recognized as a Biosphere Reserve area. Since then FAB has been protecting globally important heritage and natural landscapes.

I wanted to speak to Don because of the important work he has done in the ย area. I personally have benefitted by this work as I am an avoid hiker on lands that FAB owns.

It took a while to actually get the interview as he is a very busy person. However, by being polity persistent and several emails I was able to get in touch with Don. I sent an initial email, followed by a phone call a few days later, then another 2 emails before I finally got a positive response.

The big take away I pulled from our conversation is “the power of one is underrated” to me that means that regardless of what anyone else says, if you see a need, have idea or dream a dream; chase it. You may not change the world all on your own but all the small changes add up and if everyone is prepared to make the little changes, big things will happen.

I am very interested in working in this side of the industry so having this connection is key to my success in being able to eventually work for similar companies.

Following this interview and blog post I will send a thank you card and remain in touch with Don about future volunteer opportunities.

Leave a Reply

