YouTube and the Quest for the Golden Customer

Yea totally dumb headline but I laughed! So I saw the other day on Adweek (yes, my teachers have turned me into a marketing nerd) that the new trend to reach the ever lovely millenials is to team up with YouTube stars and shamelessly self promote. It actually makes a lot of sense. I personally have never been really big into the whole stalk people on YouTube thing but I listen to records so what do I know, right?

Don’t answer that.

The first one of these fancy new YouTube sponsorship-I-want-your-viewers thing that I saw was the Hannah Witton (she also blogs and you can visit that amazing piece of internet here) and Durex one. Holy shit I cried laughing. She is hilarious and I totally logged into my YouTube/Gmail account and followed or subscribed or nicely started stalking her or whatever the proper term for YouTube is…

ANYWAY. The video is actually pretty funny. She talks about sex *gasp* and relationships and super awesome things like that!

The other one that I watched while doing a little digging on the subject was the Rhett and Link teamup with Toyota video. HILARIOUS. I watch their stuff when I need a good pick me up.

This trend doesn’t shock me at all. Many of these channels, especially the beauty ones, have been promoting brands for a long time now. The only difference is the people who run these channels are being paid with the whole partnership/sponsorship thing. So really it is marketing at it’s finest. Take something pure and commercialize it. Simple. Ha. Ha. Yea not so simple.

But here is some puppies playing to distract you from that super lame ending! Happy Wednesday Y’all!

giphy puppies

Leave a Reply

