What’s Beautiful? Uh Sports…Duh

images (2)

Alrighty! I know this is decently old but I really did love this campaign and this post is going to be a part one of two kind of thing mostly because I really feel past passionately about this topic.

As a female athlete I have always struggled with body image in a different way. I have never had issues with my weight so eating disorders have never ever been an issue for me. That being said I have had a whole other issue that I’m sure many others have felt as well; the constant battle of being strong but not too strong.

images

Then along came Under Armour and they’re ad campaign; ‘What’s Beautiful’. This inspired me. I know now that this was the point. They were targeting girls and women just like me, using specific brand positioning strategies, in order to bring us to Under Armour because the girls who believed that kicking butt on the field and being proud as heck of the bodies that power us to do that all wear Under Armour. I’m sure many of them do. My 16-year-old self thought they were the only brand for me.

download (1)

So began my unwavering loyalty to a brand that made it okay for me to be stronger than some of my male counterparts. At 16 it is important to feel like it’s okay to be you because if when we don’t make that okay we end up with suicides and eating disorders. According to a study by Dove 60% of girls between 10 and 17 quit sports due to body image insecurities.

That is a terrible thing to hear! As a girl who has benefitted so much from sport it makes me sick that girls will quit because they don’t think that being athletic is beautiful. So thank you Under Armour for making me feel beautiful and giving me the confidence to tell guys who think an athletic body isn’t attractive to get lost. My power and the power that the women I play beside is hot and always will be.

images (1)

Just as a side note, there is a whole community developed by Under Armour that is linked above dedicated to keeping women motivated and it gives us a great space to connect and share stories and advice. There have also been competitions to redefine the female athlete, the video below shows that.

One thought on “What’s Beautiful? Uh Sports…Duh

  1. Pingback: #LikeAGirl. Always. | Marketing in the Real World

Leave a Reply

